1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Dog id and ammonia question

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by SpanishGirl, Apr 15, 2018.

1. SpanishGirl

SpanishGirl Member

Spain
    Hi guys! I know there is so many thread about this, but I just want to know if I can let without supervision a super greasy dog skull into ammonia for a two weeks or so. I had to say this is my first time I degrease any bone.
    Also, my ammonia is 1'75% nothing more added according to the label.
    Here the dog skull pics (found it like that in the field): https://imgur.com/a/QLize

2. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

Yes. You can leave it in there for a month with no problems. Can not really tell the breed. Dogs interbreed so much it could be 5 different dogs all in the same animal. A very nice find but a sad one. Someones pet did not come home and was lost. Was there a collar? Or are there many dogs in your area that belong to no one? You might want to recover all the other bones if the skeleton was there and try to assemble it. If bones are missing, you could do this.
    https://www.taxidermy.net/threads/285375/

3. SpanishGirl

SpanishGirl Member

Spain
    Wow this is so fcking awesome!! I wish I had that imagination too…
    And no, I don't think it was a missing pet cause was thrown in a landfill, that make it much more sad, that someone forget their pet like that (if it was ever). By that, there was damaged bones everywhere but im sure isn't complete, so just took the skull.
    I know it's almost impossible to know the breed, but any direction? I think is some kind of brachycephalic male and had brown hair before clean it. Also, by the teeth and porous bone I think was old. What do you say?

4. SpanishGirl

SpanishGirl Member

Spain
    I just have another question... To put or not a lid? Does it matter or just for the odor?

5. Sea Wolf