1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Citric acid Vs formic acid which is better?

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Rgvmelb, Apr 20, 2018.

1. Rgvmelb

Rgvmelb Member

I'm currently using citric acid, but I'm starti g to do more tanning now and it takes a long time to fill a drum up and make up a new pickle every time. Also I might just be impatient, but it seems that quite often the citric just doesn't get right into the skin and makes shaving difficult. All this added to someone learning from scratch!
    Question is, would l be better using formic acid so l can reuse my pickle and will it work better or much the same as citric acid?

2. Toolfactory

Toolfactory New Member

I know practically nothing as I'm just starting out tanning, but I know citric acid helps with really greasy skins like skunk and coon and bear. You also need to use an actually degreaser with these animals, but the citric acid is a natural booster in the degreasing process, and I think it smells nice.

3. Toolfactory

Toolfactory New Member

Oh this is what the fellows at Trubond have to say about it

"When tanning bears in-house, your best bet for a good acid, will ALWAYS be CITRIC acid. Others will work, but the natural degreasing effect of citric, Will ALWAYS yield a SUPERIOR finished product, when it comes to bears, and small game, like fox and yokes"

4. Rgvmelb

Rgvmelb Member

I'm in Australia so pretty much the only greasy animal l'll get will be a fox. Some of the deer have really thick skin though! Easily 1/4-1/2 thick sometimes. Sometimes you just have to knock the meat and membrane off and they're fine. Depending on what species it is.

5. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Neither each will work on any animal as many other acids do the same.