1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Crane heads

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by 3bears, May 4, 2018.

1. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    OK, anyone that does cranes on a regular basis or have successfully done some in the past. Do you use an artificial head or the real head? At a glance I didn't see d defined feather/skin junction to cut for an artificial. I use artificial on most birds but on occasion have used the real ones but I often treat it the same way when skinning. If you use the real one, is an incision needed to turn the neck skin over the head? Skinning it is this afternoon's job so hopefully I can get some input yet this AM.

2. Texasbanditto

Texasbanditto New Member

Hey 3Bears:

I am not a professional, I been doing this fun stuff for 3 years. This year I did my first cranes and their purpose was for my decoy spread. I used the real heads. I made an incision from the middle of the head and down the neck (maybe an inch or so, I usually start with a small one and cut larger as I need to). They turned out just fine and I think if I groomed them , etc etc they would make nice mounts.

As far as turning the neck...I have no clue and wouldn't even want to venture a guess.

I do have a question for you... when you use artificial heads, what adhesive do you use to glue the skin to them?

Thanks in advance for your answer on adhesive and I hope I have been of some assistance.

3. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    I use super glue gel to glue the skin around the bill/beak and I often times use a little caulk injected in prior to gluing the skin down for the rest of it. Thanks for your input, when I start it I will consider my options.

4. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN