1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Am i getting ripped off? rhino hornbill

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Matthewroo, Jun 7, 2018.

1. Matthewroo

Matthewroo New Member

hello im new to buying taxidermyskulls and found a gentlemen who has a bunch of exotic bird skulls in his collection that hes trying to get rid of....he has a 12 inch beautiful adult rhino hornbill skull but is asking 1000....he said hes giving me a discount for future business relationships...he also mentioned that a skull like this would sell for 1800-2000 in the US. this is a legit seller but i would like to get more feedback before i make this large of a purchase for a single skull, thank you!!

2. Nancy C

Nancy C Well-Known Member

3. Matthewroo

Matthewroo New Member

4. mallardhunter57

mallardhunter57 Member

I agree with Nancy and it's best practice not to buy them at all. Most species of hornbills are killed at alarming rates for their skulls. It takes almost a decade for the casque of a rhinoceros hornbill to fully mature....but to answer your question, with an over saturation of hornbill skulls for sale I think he's asking a bit much.

5. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

If you are willing to jump on stuff, as you seem ready to, you will get burned .. badly. Chances are your "seller" is not in the USA and may well not even have what he is offering you. That one on eBay is in Indonesia and it can not be shipped to the USA. They may go ahead and do so but, when it reaches the USA, it will be taken by US Customs and destroyed. The buyer will never see it.

6. Matthewroo

Matthewroo New Member

Do you have a link as to where these are listed as illegal?? because ive done a ton of research and all i can find is that the Helmeted hornbill is illegal......Not the rhino. let me know thank you!

7. Sea Wolf