1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Tanning vs drying raccoon

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by RJoshi, Aug 6, 2018.

1. RJoshi

RJoshi New Member

Hi all,

I am new to the taxidermy forum. I was going to help a friend with a raccoon, but my experience is with snake skins. I saw some tutorials for skinning and fleshing the raccoon and then drying it on a board and another process for deer where they salted it. For the drying on a board method, is that sufficiently completed? Is there no tanning with chemicals or brains? Is it two different processes, and if so, whats different bout the end results?

If you were going more for a display mount and wanted to leave the feet attached, what is the best way to go about that? Sorry for the bombardment of questions.

2. RJoshi,
    Hides such as Raccoon, Fox, Coyote, Fisher, Bobcat etc. all get fleshed, stretched and dried when being prepped for sale for the FUR MARKET not taxidermy. These dried hides are tanned before being turned into clothing and other items. To answer your question drying and tanning are two totally different process. I myself send anything bigger than a fox to the tannery...fox, raccoons, squirrels, mink, are all animals I treat by soaking overnight in Denatured Alcohol before mounting.

As far as salting hides, this is a method used to remove moisture out of the hide. Moisture causes bacteria which can lead to decomposition and slippage (hair falling out). This is just another way to dry and preserve the hide until its tanned.

Hope this helps

3. RJoshi

RJoshi New Member