1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Reassembling snake bones?

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Gryphonic, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Gryphonic

Gryphonic New Member

I'm extremely new to taxidermy (as in, I've only really be researching techniques the last few days), but a little while ago I found a set of two snake bones that had had the flesh stripped off them naturally, and for an art project I'm looking to try and reconstruct the snakes. They're mainly in tact, although since they are both so small I'm missing the skull or one of the and some of the extremely small bones from both of them that got lost among the grass area I found them in. I'm a little stuck on a few things though, so if anyone could help me out that would be extremely appreciated.

I've kept the bones as-is in a small metal and glass container for the past few months from finding them (I found them probably at the start of this year) and they're still fairly sturdy, but if I was to now try to clean them, how would you recommend doing it? I was planning on initially soaking them in water and then putting them into a 3% hydrogen peroxide solution (as I've seen a few people recommend), but seeing as they have been left untouched for a while is there any precautions I should take to make sure the bones don't dissolve or break apart (especially in the latter)? They are very fragile, some of the ribs especially are probably only about a mm in width, so would this require any special care for them - should I dilute the solution further, if used?

Also for the above, should I also soak the jawbones/teeth in the solution or leave them out so I don't risk the teeth coming off the jaw? It would be nearly impossible to glue them back in if that happened, so I'm hesitant to do anything which may cause them to come away from the head.