1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Auto-tanner

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by pir^2h, Oct 20, 2018.

1. pir^2h

pir^2h Retrievers give you the bird

I know there are post about this but sifting through them to find what I am looking for is a too time consuming. So if you are going to tell me to check the achieves, please just move along. Thank you!

I have been considering purchasing one of these for a couple years now but it is a lot of money. I have never sent anything out to be tanned and have no intention of doing so; I am only a hobbyist. From those who actually own one and have been using it for a couple years, it is really worth it? What about it do you like? What do you dislike?

Can it tan a full mount deer? Thanks for any input.

Vic

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Well not sure if I have the time to help here with attitude like yours cause you have no time to look and you want to tan hides which takes time to do it properly. So how are you going to handle this?
    ROFLMAO

Ok to be honest your wasting your money on one unless your in a major rush to get a skin tanned in 4 hours compared to 16 hours.
    The maker Steve (Rotamal killing his last name here) who is the maker of the first pressure tanner finally said oops pressure has nothing to do with the process but the tumbling is what speeds up the process only.
    He now make tumblers that seals and only tumble only.
    Yes they still sell the product ( as Barnum and Bailey said “ there’s a sucker born every minute “) So don’t buy something unless you have waste money!
    I’ve been static tanning for 18 plus years and learned this long ago before it first came out. ( a thought no tanneries uses pressure to tan !)