1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

How Long Do I Have To Rough Flesh A Deer?

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by viking0923, Nov 20, 2018.

1. viking0923

viking0923 New Member

I am wondering if there is a time limit I should give myself when fleshing and turning a whitetail deer. As a beginner I am naturally not very fast due to trying to be careful. I was hoping someone will be able to say something to the effect of (paraphrasing) "my rule of thumb is 45 minutes" or "you can buy yourself time by doing xyz". I bought a Taxidermy101 video (Bill Atkins) and in the video he says he can can personally fully flesh it before pickling but says people learning would need to just rough flesh, pickle, then final flesh before tanning... indicating (to me at least) that there is a time component that I should take into consideration. The bottom line is I don't want to create issues I could avoid with some rule of thumb guidance or suggestions.

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    Turn all area, lips, ears, eyes and nose, remove most red flesh from the cape and rub salt in. In most instances if you can get that all done in 3 hours you should be fine, depending on the temp of shop and cape. When I started out, it took me at least that much and I never lost one because of it.

viking0923 likes this.

3. I agree as long as most of the red flesh is off and everything is turned and split, you can salt, pickle, and do the final fleshing after hair is all Locked into place

viking0923 likes this.
  4. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member