1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Another Auto Tanning Question

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by drwalleye, Nov 26, 2018.

1. drwalleye

drwalleye Member

I have been using my auto Tanner for about 10 years now and and I didn't want to hijack the post a few lines down. it works great. I started out with lutan f and i was messing with all the pickles and neutralizers Etc. this tanner you put in one gallon of water one pound of crystals and Let It Go . Air pressure or no air pressure my question is that it seems like a lot of people are against this machine and want to stick with the old way which takes longer and Messier and I don't know if it's any better .so can anybody tell me that using the auto Tanner produces a inferior tan?. I'm not trying to pick a fight about this I would just like to know a honest answer from those who have done this both ways for a long time. Yes it's faster nothing wrong with that and cheaper I would pay over 70 bucks per cape to send it to a Tannery including shipping and and this only cost a few bucks so it pays for itself pretty quick so again , I am still fairly new to taxidermy is there anybody who can give me an honest scientific reason why this machine is not a good choice over the brush ons or krowtans of the world thank you for your input

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Ok your kind of all over the place with the question!
    Is there anything wrong with it?
    Yes the price and misleading of pressure!
    Pressure does nothing to speed up the process. So paying for a container that handles high pressure was a waste of money.
    Pro is yes it tans faster cause of the constant turning, tumbling. So if you had a tub that can seal up and tumble guess what same tan. No tannery uses pressure to tan hides just paddles or tumbling to speed it up.