1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Need Advice With Alum And Salt Tanning

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Saltydonkey, Dec 6, 2018 at 4:55 PM.

Tags:
  1. Saltydonkey

Saltydonkey New Member

ok im new to the taxidermy and tanning stuff but i am a avid hunter and want to get the most out of my game animals, so i have 5 squirrels hides that i have fleshed and soaked for 72 hours in i cup of alum and 1 cup of salt in 2 gallons of water, i removed them and let they dry and started to stretch the hides but i think i may have let them dry to long with out stitching because they have gotten pretty hard. so i was wondering if so neatsfoot oil will make them so and supple thanks.

2. wayne St Vincent

wayne St Vincent New Member

I am new to this as well but I have read that you can soak them in Luke warm water mixed with 4oz of salt per gallon for 1 hour, let drip dry then place in a plastic bag at room temp to sweat over night. Ready to be mounted or frozen the next day. Hope this helps.

Attached Files:

3. Saltydonkey

Saltydonkey New Member

I will have to try but I thought that alum tanning makes the hide water proof

4. joeym

joeym Jeannette & Joey @ Dunn's Falls

If you are wanting soft skins, you will need to "break" the leather after you have tanned, regardless of what tan you use. Commercial tanneries place several skins in a large tumbler half full of sawdust, pour in 5 gallons of tanning oil, flip the switch, and let her roll for several days. In your case, place an old axe head in a vise, and run to skin back and forth across it til its soft to your satisfaction. After you've done this a while, you'll learn that the $8-10 bucks a tannery charges for tanning a squirrel is a bargain!

Last edited: Dec 6, 2018 at 9:19 PM
    Saltydonkey likes this.
  5. Saltydonkey

Saltydonkey New Member