1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Degreasing Necessary?

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by Klutey, Dec 6, 2018 at 10:00 PM.

1. Klutey

Klutey New Member

I'm new to the beetles and euro mounts arena... is degreasing a must? What happens if I whiten and don't degrease?

Only reason I'm asking is I kind if like the look of the skull right out of the bugs. Will it eventually stink or something without degreasing?

Thanks!!!

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    Grease will eventually seep out of some skulls and stain shelves or whatever you have it sitting on and yes they stink.

3. joeym

joeym Jeannette & Joey @ Dunn's Falls

Beetle cleaned skulls need to at least be soaked in warm soapy water for several hours. There are beetle eggs, frass, live beetles, dung, and residual oil on and in the skull. Whether you whiten or not is your personal preference. My skulls go into a freezer for several days first to kill any remaining live beetles, then they are degreased.

4. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

I will throw up a picture of a cleaned and not degreased skull as compared to one that is. It is your choice but a skull with grease in it gets nastier looking the longer it sits, attracts bugs, mold and will develop an odor in many cases.

2 bears that were more than likely not degreased and whitened. You can see the grease badly soaking through the lower skull and it is also no longer nicely colored in the areas that it was originally. The upper skull also has grease in it and you can see spots of black mold growing on the back half of it. You can degrease a skull without whitening and get a nice bone color. I don't have too many photos of skulls that are not degreased as I just don't leave them that way.
    [​IMG]