1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Russian Boar

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Blazingnate, Dec 26, 2018.

1. Blazingnate

Blazingnate New Member

I’m planning a Russian boar hunt with my bow this winter. I guess they have nice thick coats in the winter. I hate to waste a hide like that, but don’t want to pay a taxidermist. Looking for recommendations for a total newbie. I found this form and wonder how difficult it would be to do (https://www.mckenziesp.com/mobile/Wild-Boar-Rick-Carter-C4719.aspx)

I also wondered about doing a boar skin rug. Just trying to make something with it without spending a fortune if that’s possible for a total beginner.

2. Westcoast

Westcoast Active Member

Boar, especially large ones are kind of a pain because they can be greasy and their armor plate needs to be removed. Which is why most taxidermists charge more for them.

3. rogerswildlife

rogerswildlife Rogers Wildlife Taxidermy Tommy Rogers

Not something I'd recommend for a newbie. If not done properly its going to be a big greasy mess. If you get one do the animal justice and have it professionally done you'll be glad you did . And get something a lot easier to try for a first go at taxidermy .
    Tommy

George likes this.
  4. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

When I was starting out, I got a boar and took it to the taxidermist to process the the cape and hide and tan it. He charged a lot for that and I happily paid him.

rogerswildlife likes this.
  5. Blazingnate

Blazingnate New Member

You guys are awesome. I will be taking him to the taxidermist it sounds like.

6. George

George The older I get, the better I was.