1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Tanning Chemical/smoking Hides Question

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by stokedlight86, Jan 30, 2019.

1. stokedlight86

stokedlight86 Member

Hoping someone can help me out here. I’ve been tanning hides and such for a few years now and I’ve gotten into a good working system for the majority of the process and I’m very happy with the end results of the hides on work on. My question lies in smoking hides and or the process to stop them from stiffening back up if they were to get wet or be washed. The bucksins that I tan I smoke as a final step and that does the trick very well but is there another way without smoking to do this? I feel like professional tanneries (which I am not) don’t go and smoke all the hides people send them, so is there a chemical bath or process I don’t know about to achieve this? I have furs (coyote, fox etc) that I want to make into some hats and mittens and want to protect them from stiffening if they were to get wet. Thanks.

2. Bruce_Rittel

Bruce_Rittel Consultant Services

To achieve a skin that will not stiffen after you Wash it, or it gets wet - you need to switch to a Syntan for your Tan! Forget Smoking them. I use Dan Rinehart's EZ-100 (TASCO) or try Knobloch's Para Tan. Both are Syntans and produce the same type of durable leather. It's doubtful you or I, or your customers will ever wash either of these type of tanned skins in 160 to 180 degree Water. At those Temps you will break their Tanning bond to the fibers too!

With the other tans (besides Syntans) available, they may be good for Taxidermy purposes, but most of them tend to Wash out if gotten wet often or they were washed - hence their stiffness upon drying out again. Actually you're slowly washing out their tanning ability.

I always use Syntans - particularly on Rugs!

3. stokedlight86

stokedlight86 Member