1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Polytranspar Wet Look Gloss

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Wookworkers Studio, Feb 1, 2019.

1. Wookworkers Studio

Wookworkers Studio New Member

Can anyone help me? I bought Ploytranspar Wet Look Gloss to spray as my final gloss coat and I can't get it to gloss. It just stays dull. I spray with a detail gun.

2. Cecil

Cecil Well-Known Member

Don't be insulted by this but I assume you are spraying it heavy enough? Just so you know I stopped buying clear coats from the taxidermy suppliers years ago due to problems. I had one that refused to harden. Was told by the manufacturer (Lifetone) that it was probably old.

I buy a urethane automotive clear coat on eBay at a good price and free shipping. No more issues but you must use a good exhaust fan. But being a woodworker I'm sure you know all about that.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Automotive...=item3cc3ddbc36:g:MoIAAOSwEnhcUxLk:rk:10:pf:0

JL and Sotired like this.

3. Fallenscale

Fallenscale Active Member

NY
    How many coats have you applied? Will take 3 to 4

4. Is it dull or cloudy,if cloudy I've heard people using a hair dryer to clear it up,look on you tube might be some help there also.

5. FishArt

FishArt Well-Known Member

To clarify - 2-3 FLASH COATS and then one final, wet coat making sure you don't get it on too thick. As Cecil mentioned some glosses are more temperamental than others. But, ultimately the bulk of the problems can typically be attributed to the end user. Applying a nice even, wet coat takes practice. And don't start out on a 50" musky!