1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Has Anyone Ever Considered Or Put The Kibosh On New Work For A While?

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by Cecil, Feb 15, 2019.

1. Cecil

Cecil Well-Known Member

I've been doing this for going on 35 years and the fact that I never ever get caught up as much as I'd like to wears on me. I'm close to retirement age, and just I know I've experienced burnout on more than one occasion, but just keep slogging along.

I don't advertise, as all of my business is word of mouth and repeat customers. I'm considering just telling callers that I'm taking a break to get caught up, and they will either have to find someone else or get back to me in several months.

Ill advised? Anyone else do this? I seriously doubt it would hurt me as there just aren't many of us that do just fish as I do. And who knows maybe I'll stop doing it period.

And no a vacation doesn't make much of a difference. Been there done that.

Thoughts?

Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
  2. Kerby Ross

Kerby Ross KSU - Class of '83; U.S. Army - Infantry (83-92)

Raise your prices .... take in less work ... and make more money.

:)

Kerby...

Glenn M, rigbobby and Lance.G like this.

3. Cecil

Cecil Well-Known Member

Makes no difference Kerby. Not many of us fish guys around here.

4. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

Cecil, I did it once in 60 years. I was getting behind my usual 1 year lead time. But let me warn you about one thing:
    YOU CAN'T TAKE A SIP OUT OF A SPITTOON WITHOUT HAVING TO BITE THE STRING.