1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

My First Mount(s)! Critiques Wanted!

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by TheDecoyDude, Feb 17, 2019.

1. TheDecoyDude

TheDecoyDude New Member

Hey everyone! I'm very new to the taxidermy world but I've been carving decoys for a number of years. Been a lurker on the website and wanted to show what I've been up to. There is a pretty steep learning curve to this taxidermy thing! Did a bunch of steps wrong but at least learned while doing them. I have also stabbed myself with wires countless times and cursed feathers even more haha These two canvasbacks are my very first "true" mounts. They are deadhang style. The bills are not yet painted (I actually casted them from the original birds). Please give any feedback you see fit whether it be positive or negative! Thanks, Andre' IMG_0115.JPG IMG_0110.JPG IMG_0118.JPG

Last edited: Feb 18, 2019
    Micah Howards and GotHonks like this.
  2. Wildthings

Wildthings Well-Known Member

My first critique is don't use the thumbnail feature but full size on your post

Hard to tell with all the tape but a couple things stand out to me on a dead style mount
    1. the hanging foot would most likely not be bent but would be straight where the strap is
    2. the eyes would most likely be closed or partially closed on a dead bird
    3. Excellent job from what I can tell and the bills are well done...should have painted them first

Last edited: Feb 18, 2019

3. TheDecoyDude

TheDecoyDude New Member

Thank you! I was really unsure of how much tape to use. I was probably very excessive.. I fixed the pictures too! Didn't realize how they looked. I see your point on all parts and will do better if I go down this path again!

msestak and Wildthings like this.
  4. Crittrstuffr

Crittrstuffr Well-Known Member