1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Quastions On Dakota Pro Vs S&s Fleshing Machine

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by JBATT, Mar 7, 2019.

1. JBATT

JBATT New Member

I’m new to taxidermy work and was wondering if one is better than the other. I was told if I buy one to get a good one because I would have it the rest of my life. I’m mainly getting in to it as a hobby and not a Job I even was looking at the Dakot V. I don’t want to send stuff out to be done I want to do it from start to finish and be in complete control of the project tell it’s finished. There are things about both I like and would like to hear from people that have them to make a final decision on what one to go with. I still don’t know this web page good enough to know how to look in the archives because I’m sure this has been brought up before.

Any input would be appreciated Thanks

2. TripleC

TripleC Member

Georgia
    JBATT. I am a hobbyist as well and unfortunately I don't have a ton of experience with the fleshers you mentioned. There are a lot of members/shaving experts here that should be able to answer your question. In the meantime, look at the top banner. Four places to the right of the Forums tab is the Search function. A lot of cool features that allow you to search by titles, members, dates, forums, etc. It has been an invaluable tool to me and has allowed me to learn from all these great taxidermists, past and present. It is truly a treasure trove. Best of luck.

pir^2h and JBATT like this.

3. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

When I got one, I had to make the same decision. I chose the Dakota Pro for reasons I don't recall. I think it was down to the pulley and belt being inclosed on the Dakota Pro, where, I believe at the time the S&S had an exposed pulley belt. This may not have been the case, but, that's how I think it went.