1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Help Fixing Tail Junction

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Jason Rader, Mar 16, 2019.

1. This is my very first attempt at assembling/painting a repro. Just doing it for fun. I'm a bird guy that wanted to play around with a fish blank to improve my airbrushing. This is an ARP 3d bass from Mckenzie. I glued the tail into the slot and then attempted to "blend" the junction with fin magic. Kinda guessed on how much to use and thought I'd feathered it enough that it wouldn't show. Now that I've begun painting, it's become abundantly clear I used WAAAAY too much and did a very poor job of blending. The glob of fin magic is very visible now that i've put some paint on it. Looking for options to make this less noticeable. I doubt attempting to grind some of this down would work so I was thinking about mixing up more fin magic (yikes) and trying to "blend my blend" even if that meant taking it all the way out to the tip of the tail but doing it very thinly this time.

upload_2019-3-16_7-43-34.png

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    The line where the tail meets the fish catches my eye not so much where the fin magic stops on the tail and that will likely all but disappear when you gloss the fish. Replicating the grooves and countours

Jason Rader and Cecil like this.

3. FishArt

FishArt Well-Known Member

Easy fix. Take a cutting tool with your dremmel and grind in the rays. Then switch bits to something that you can dremmel in the scales at the base.

4. If i bring the colors of my tail onto the "skin" of the fish will that help eliminate that stark contrast of tail/body? to be honest....that line exists because i taped the tail off when i started painting thinking i didn't want to get overspray on it. In hindsight, that was a mistake and i should've been blending that transition in too. Dang!