1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Finishing Deer Nose And Eyes?

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by cryals, Apr 27, 2019.

1. cryals

cryals New Member

Texas
    As some of you know, I’m new to this and still learning. Is there a way to finish a deers nose and eyes with out airbrushing? If so can you please let me know— THANK YOU IN ADVANCE.

2. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

There is a tutorial in the tutorial section that gives step by step oil painting eyes and noses that is equally as good as air brushing.

cryals likes this.

3. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Just click on tutorials above the gamehead section. click on the pinned thread titled list of tutorials by subject. scroll down and click on Finishing a whitetail eye with oil paints by Eddie B.

cryals likes this.
  4. bhart

bhart New Member

None of the pictures come up for me any one else

jigginjim likes this.
  5. Dave Byrd

Dave Byrd Active Member

I do all of my finish work with acrylic paints and an artist brush. I have an airbrush but never use it. For the eyes, I use Grumbacher Warm gray, Lamp Black and Burnt Umber. For the nose, I use the same three colors with the addition of Light Cadmium Red. Acrylics dry fast. You can use oils if you need more time for blending.

cryals likes this.
  6. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member

cryals likes this.
  7. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Dave Byrd, on tanning and painting threads, you always seem to go against the grain and yet your methods produce outstanding mounts proving that one doesn't have to possess the "fancy stuff" to produce quality, but rather, possess talent developed further by study and practice.

I used acrylic paints like you suggested, different colors, but same technique and had great success.

KatieC, cryals and Dave Byrd like this.
  8. Dave Byrd

Dave Byrd Active Member