1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Antler-ear Placement

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by CW21, May 9, 2019.

1. CW21

CW21 New Member

Let me start by saying thank you to everyone on this site as I have learned a great deal from all of you, and sorry for this post as I know it is very repetitive thread on here. This is my first time posting but I've spent all day reading and still not sure the best route. I am mounting this deer for a friend and it has very large bases. Im having difficulty placing the ears. The ear butts are tight against the burr and I'm going to have issues getting the hide in there. I saw on another post to put a straight line from the nostril through the front corner of the eye to the antler burr, I feel like I'm close but just missing something. Any thoughts?

Attached Files:

2. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

I would tip the antlers forward and use clay for ear butts.

3. CW21

CW21 New Member

Thanks tanglewood! What if I'm already a little short on my tip too nose measurement, like 1/2 inch short? I know it's not the end of the world but I didn't want to get them to far forward.

4. CW21

CW21 New Member

I forgot to mention that my burr to eye measurement is right from what I had recorded

5. msestak

msestak Well-Known Member

Erie, PA
    that form may not be "anatomically" correct. the ear butt location looks to close. maybe its just the neck swell that makes it look like that. i was told there should be at least a finger space between the burr and ear butt. the ear butt muscles need room to move. they cant be pinned down by the burr.

i am sure someone with a lot more experience will jump in here.

6. CW21

CW21 New Member