1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Did I Ruin It? Coyote Fur

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by FishSpike, Nov 18, 2019.

1. FishSpike

FishSpike New Member

First off, love this forum. No clue why I didn't get on here years ago, this is amazing. Trapped and hunted my whole life, skinning most animals, with the majority being coons to sell.

My question...

I shot a coyote this Saturday morning. It actually had all it's hair and a nice looking standard coyote color/pattern. So I decided I wanted to have it tanned for display at home.

Tube skinned it like I do a coon a few hours later. Got busy and left skinned hide in my truck until Sunday, unfleshed. Now, I don't know why I did this, probably because I am a rookie at preserving hides, but I salted the hide with canning salt, rolled it up and put it in the freezer.

Called taxidermy guy today, explained what I did to make sure he would be able to work with it. He said since I salted it before fleshing the meat and cartilage off, he couldn't take it to have tanned.

I don't blame him at all for not being able to do it anyway. Not the direction I'm going, sounds like I messed up. He said next time just bring the entire coyote in, unskinned.

So, did I ruin the hide? Can I flesh it still and then go on with learning, or experimenting, a home tan? Or is it trash?

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Ok never salt and fold and try to freeze a cape. It needs to be flat.
    since the taxidermist didn’t want it is a lazy one. All that needs to be done is for the skin to be hydrated so it can be fleshed properly. Now there maybe an issue but cotes are pretty durable hides to work on as I’ve never had one slip.
    Call a tannery and send it to them. They should be able to handle it better than your taxidermist.

Micah Howards likes this.

3. FishSpike

FishSpike New Member