1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Do You Really Care?

Discussion in 'The Taxidermy Industry' started by George, Nov 20, 2019.

1. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

I think that's an honest question for any professional taxidermist.
    As this is deer season, people keep asking me if I miss taxidermy at this time of year. I just have to laugh because of ALL times of year in a taxidermy shop, this one is the LEAST one that I miss. Far too many nights ran into mornings and longer days this time of year for almost 40 years that I provided a full service shop.
    Each year I still managed to be surprised over conversations, advertisements and remarks I hear from the shops in the local area.
    Let me say something so I'm perfectly clear: I loved the whitetail deer. I still think it is the most magical and magnificent creature to walk the world I live in. As such, I studied it from the first time I encountered one. I learned the biology, the science, the habitat, the nutrition, the actions and the reactions of this animal. I never, EVER, let a whitetail mount get out of my shop that I would not have put up on my own wall.
    Sadly, I don't see that in many claiming to be us anymore. We seem saturated with poor business people with poor work ethic and little pride in what they do. I once remarked to Joe Coombs that I was just an average taxidermist. Joe snapped back that I obviously hadn't been out in the field much (I admitted that) and I have no clue as to how bad "average" taxidermy looked. Sadly, he was correct.