1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Unscented Clear Dawn????

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by BBCS, Nov 21, 2019.

1. BBCS

BBCS New Member

I'm just getting started in the skull cleaning business and from what I have read searching these threads it looks like I need to use unscented clear dawn dish liquid for the degreasing process. I have looked high and low and even looked on Dawn's website and can not find clear unscented dawn. What should I use?

13 point likes this.
  2. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

Any Dawn will work. I mostly use the blue and only very rarely have I ever had an issue with a blue tint and it is easily fixed. Most Dawn is unscented but I would look for that in preference to any scented one. I have bought clear when I found it and even the one with peroxide. Dawn is recommended because it seems to be more concentrated and more cost efficient as far as supplies are concerned.

Micah Howards likes this.

3. I buy my clear dawn at walmart

4. BBCS

BBCS New Member

Thanks guys. I'm planning on using peroxide (reduced to about 9%) to whiten. Will that take care of the occasional blue tint? How long should I soak a skull in 9% peroxide?

5. Micah Howards

Micah Howards Active Member

I have used 27% peroxide on skulls when they have some oil in them and that doesn't even get rid of it. it will make everything real white except for that. But if you use that be extremely careful, always use eye protection and rubber gloves.

6. BBCS

BBCS New Member

I'm planning on putting the skulls in a container with water and dish liquid heated to 120 degrees, changing the water when needed, for about a week. Then I'll whiten with the 9% peroxide solution. I'm just not sure how long I should leave the skull in the peroxide.

7. tem

tem Well-Known Member

i leave mine in a couple of weeks if not longer.

8. Sea Wolf