1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Milk Teeth?? To Leave Or Not To Leave

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by BBCS, Dec 14, 2019.

1. BBCS

BBCS New Member

I'm new to the skull cleaning business (with dermestids) and kinda freaked out when I realized my employees are eating teeth!! With some searching (thanks taxi.net!!) I've learned that the "damaged" teeth are referred to as milk teeth (baby teeth). What's the general consensus .....let the bugs finish the teeth off?, repair the teeth?, or pull the skull before any damage is done?

deer teeth.jpg

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    I don't believe the bugs are eating teeth I've seen that with simmered and maserated. When teeth fall out I put em in a bag and finish them like the rest and glue them back in when all degreased and whitened.

3. BBCS

BBCS New Member

I'm pretty sure it's the bugs. That is the only thing these skulls have been exposed to except the freezer. The teeth look fine when they go in, but after a few days the bugs are inside those front teeth. Take a closer look. It's like there is a tooth inside a tooth. Only the first 3 on each side. deer teeth.jpg

4. joeym

joeym Jeannette & Joey @ Dunn's Falls

You are sweating over nothing. Customers don't give a darn whether milk teeth are present or not...99.99% of them don't know what a milk tooth is.

5. BBCS

BBCS New Member

That thought crossed my mind....I'm just trying to produce the best quality I can!

6. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    The bugs are eating tissue not teeth. Why would they eat just those teeth and not the skull? The bone is softer and much more digestible

7. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

Bugs won't eat the teeth but they might loosen and fall out into the frass.

3bears likes this.