1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Wet Verses Dry Tan

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by jimss, Dec 14, 2019.

1. jimss

jimss Member

I'm new to mounting heads and will likely be sending my capes/skins out to be tanned. I was wonderinq which tanning method (wet vs dry) everyone uses and what are the advantages/disadvantage of each?

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    Wet, you can typically get them back quicker, don't need complete rehydration, shipping will cost a little more for wet. It is recommended to rehydrate and freeze, or just freeze, dry tanned skins, so you don't save freezer space. I like dry tanned on furry critters such as bears, cats and k9s. the finishing in the tumblers with whatever they add to them helps bring out the softness and shine in the fur, wet tan on anything else.

Tanglewood Taxidermy likes this.

3. vic h

vic h Member

3 bears about summed it up. I'd go with what he said.

4. jimss

jimss Member

Thanks for the great comments! What about the ease of mounting and the quality of product? Does one have a smoother look with skin and hair? Is there differences in ease of sewing/hiding seams, tucking lips, ears, eyes, etc.? Do both hold up similarly after years on the wall to bugs and time?

5. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Ok to mount any animal you need to either use a wet tan or hydrate a dry tan do it becomes a wet tan.
    Wet tans give you the stretch you need to sew . Doing a dry is no good for mounting. You can’t do a thing with it. Dry tan is good for wall hangers.
    Being a home tanner per say I do all wet tans for my work that needs mounting. The only time I do a dry tan is for a wall hanger.
    As for holding up, you’ll have to look into the type of tan the tannery is using. Synthetics last a long time where their great for wall hangers plus mounting.