1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Dwarf Caiman (paleosuchus Palpebrosus) Project Maceration And Articulation

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by Aurelien-, Dec 15, 2019.

1. Aurelien-

Aurelien- New Member

Hi everyone,

I am a bit of a beginner in taxidermy but I already macerated and articulated a few animals, they are ugly but hey, we learn by doing! I saved some lizards, chameleons, and other complex stuff for later, but I have to move out... So, I would like to start these fragile things to empty the freeze!

One of the biggest thing in this freezer is a dwarf caiman (1.5m long with tail). It's in several pieces already skinned and cleaned as much as possible with scalpel: head, each limb, and the vertebral column into 3 or 4 parts.

I will use maceration to clean the skeleton. But, as I have read so far, it's going to be a truuuuue mess. Everything will fall apart and so on...

1. I guess I can macerate the vertebrae of the tail, that's just vertebrae, right?
    2. For the limbs, better separate the feet/hands than the long bones, macerate the long bones and scrap with scalpel feet/hands to avoid the mess with carpal/tarsal bones if macerated?
    3. For the rib cage, sternal ribs are made of cartilage, so, if macerated, they will disappear, right? So scrapping will be the only way to clean these sternal ribs?
    4. For the skull, what's the best way to do that? All the teeth will fall, and the skull itself will fall apart as well?
    5. I don't know yet if I still have the gastralia, but I guess it's cartilage as well?

Thanks guys!

2. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member