1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Preserving Bird Feet (reducing Shrinkage)

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by SterlingFoxCreations, Jan 25, 2020.

1. SterlingFoxCreations

SterlingFoxCreations New Member

I'm new to working on birds and was wondering what methods people use to keep their bird feet nice and plump after they're dried? I've heard some suggest injecting the feet with formaldehyde before drying, but I neither have access too nor want to work with a chemical like that. Does anyone have any other suggestions for feet preparation or any suggestions about where I can find the supplies to do so?

2. Jim McNamara

Jim McNamara Well-Known Member

Masters Blend is a two part plastic tat is easily injected in the toes and legs of birds. Sets up fairly quick too. McKenzie or matuska sell it for a couple choices.

3. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

Master's blend seems to be the favorite. Fantasticast works too. It has a lot longer working time than Master's Blend and formalin mixed with glycerin works well.

There is about an hour or more reading on this in the archives that go into a lot of detail.

magicmick likes this.
  4. SterlingFoxCreations

Thanks for responding! Is there a place you know of where I could buy an injector tool that could do the job?

5. SterlingFoxCreations

Great, thank you! Do you have a link to where I could find this in the archives? I'm having trouble finding anything on this particular topic.

6. Tanglewood Taxidermy

I'm a little embarrassed here. I used to spend months on end learning from the archives and reading many hours day, however, since Taxidermy.net changed format, I have not visited them and it appears that it isn't as easy to find them.

You might want to try the search bar at the top of this page.

7. Tanglewood Taxidermy