1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Looking To Start Replica Fish Taxidermy

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by CPT Glen, Feb 4, 2020.

1. CPT Glen

CPT Glen New Member

Hello, I am looking for recommendations for which airbrush to use and what forms to buy to practice on. Any info would be greatly appreciated! I have no prior experience, and I'm starting from scratch. Thank You!

2. Mudbat

Mudbat Well-Known Member

Start with skinmounts

CPT Glen and msestak like this.

3. Brad Hendrickson

Brad Hendrickson Active Member

Why start with Skin Mounts? Just curious..

CPT Glen likes this.
  4. Mudbat

Mudbat Well-Known Member

Because snapping together a replica and painting it teaches you notta. Many times on LCR or Arp 3d blanks the anatomy is wrong so they need to be fixed. Just things you learn from doing skinmounts.

CPT Glen likes this.
  5. Brad Hendrickson

Ahhh. Gotcha

6. h20halo

h20halo New Member

I hear the "anatomy is wrong" quite often on here. Can you elaborate more on what some of this means, both on skin mounts and replicas?

CPT Glen likes this.
  7. FishArt

FishArt Well-Known Member

First off, it all depends on what the student is wanting to learn. With a good teacher, students will learn a plenty finishing replicas. I don't think it matters much which is taught first, but I prefer to teach the other way around. Replicas first, then skins. The difficulty of original skins can be very intimidating. So difficult in fact that most trying to get into the fish/original skin business for profit fail. Whereas learning to paint replicas - being easier to learn allows me to build upon those successes. As a certified Secondary teacher I've learned you don't teach Calculus before teaching basic math. Teaching Replicas first is my preference! JMO.

CPT Glen, John C and jimss like this.
  8. jimss

jimss Active Member