1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Common Fish Anatomy Mount Mistakes

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by h20halo, Feb 6, 2020.

1. h20halo

h20halo Member

I know we have a lot of experienced fish guys on here, as well as many who judge competition fish. I hear quite often about mounts with improper anatomy. As a beginner, I'd appreciate hearing about some of the more common anatomy mistakes seen with reproduction and skin mounts. What do you look for first? What do most newbies do wrong in terms of anatomy?

2. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    Mouth and head position, eye set, fins and fin attachment, that includes tail juncture.

3. Brad Hendrickson

Brad Hendrickson Active Member

My biggest gripe my whole life was getting my fish back and it looked like it grew two pairs of legs for the pelvic fins... I mean I know there are WALKING fish.. BUT Perch are not a WALKING FISH...

Lance.G likes this.
  4. slabbandit

slabbandit Active Member

Head juncture to the body was the biggest problem for me. I've started lately to mount my fins in a little more relaxed positions also. Keep the lower gill flaps even with the curve of the lower body. Looks better to me than say the gill flap pulled open and down an extreme amount. What I'm working with these days is eye expression. Good Luck!

5. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Read a score sheet and that’s your answer cause we see it all.
    Biggest problem with repro is dead fish as the anatomy is wrong , poor detail in mouth, shrinkage, improper fin placement, thick fins.
    Skin mounts all the above .
    Painting on both. Not looking at references the right way.
    Eyes sets on both
    Shrinkage of fins. Or to thick on replacement fins.
    Biggest issue on both EPOXY WORK!

6. h20halo

h20halo Member