1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Repo Fish Bondo/resin

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by JAMES56, Feb 16, 2020.

1. JAMES56

JAMES56 New Member

PA.
    OK I am new to this, I Want to cast a Trout, Im going to use bondo / resin for jell coat. I am going to use Johnson wax and pva for release agent, I keep hearing about fish cooking in mold. So does that effect the cast or is the detail already set before the fish cooks or can I apply ice water to the 1st side after it sets a bit and long do you wait before flipping mold and do the opposite side Thanks.

2. JAMES56

JAMES56 New Member

PA.
    OK so I will reply to my post with another question? I keep seeing remarks on here about using ice water to cool the fish before it kicks well that dosent explain nothing to me? how do you know when it is about kick? and also some say dry and apply a sealer to the fish but they do not say what sealer to use? what brand? taxidermy fish sealer like for skin mounts ? I have some. can I use that I got it from McKenzie supply also have high fiber for bedding. I want to cast a 28 inch steel head, so how many oz of resin/ bondo do I need to mix up to cover the 1 st side of the fish? need some amounts that will work. I want to get it right without too much waste of product, thanks also after clamping the two sides together how long to wait before removing the fish? I know and have read that after removing the fish to clean the mold with soap and water right away or do you wait 24 hrs for the bondo to cure ? any help would be great, I ask questions I want to learn. I see guys putting vasilene on the mold edge after flipping the fish can I use Johnson paste floor wax for that instead with a coat of pva ? thanks

3. JAMES56

JAMES56 New Member

PA.