1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Pair Of Repro Kings

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Fermis, Feb 23, 2020.

1. Fermis

Fermis Well-Known Member

Hello all...total noob here!
    I have done one repro smallmouth ("live cast" ordered through McKenzie).
    My background is in scale model aircraft, so I have airbrushing in the "quiver" of skills, as well as assembly, and everything needed to get to "paint ready".
    Where my skills are lacking, in this venture, is in the area of colors.
    I have ordered the video from Anglers Artistry...I'm sure that will answer a lot of questions.

For the smally, I just used some model paints that I had on hand (enamels thinned in lacquer gloss)

[​IMG]
    For my first go at this sort of thing, I'm not terribly disappointed!

On to the salmon.
    One for me...
    [​IMG]

And one for my Dad...
    [​IMG]

I ordered from Lake Country...and despite most of the "reviews" that I read after ordering...these are quite decent(for my purposes at least!).
    Part of the head on mine was busted when I unpacked em. A little super glue and sanding...no biggy.

There was very little in the way of point of contact, between the heads and bodies. I used 5 minute epoxy, and added a countersunk screw. Filled the gap with "Magic Sculpt" epoxy/resin.

[​IMG]

I suppose I could have spent more time grinding to get a better fit...but this was easier, and I still would have had to do it anyway.
    The fit of the fins was pretty crappy. In a happy accident...I put them in hot soapy water to was em...they got soft and pliable. With a few heat (hot water) treatments, I was able to reshape them and get a snug fit into their slots. Some more Magic Sculpt to fill the gaps...

[​IMG]

That is where they stand right now. Waiting on the video before I proceed.

I am still debating on how to display them...
    1. Just a simple ring type hanger