1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Rhinehardt Tanning Cream

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Bruce M, Mar 1, 2020.

1. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

Hi to all. I am a beginner in taxidermy and this is my first post to this forum. I recently completed my first deer shoulder mount and am working on my second. Being new to the process I used rhinehardt products along with the videos at free taxidermy school. In the supplies he gives his tanning cream as the product to tan with. I went through the flesh, salt, rinse, tanning cream, rinse, final flesh, thin process and the mount came out well. By reading other content in this thread I am wondering on thoughts about this tanning process and if it is adequate for long term quality in the mount. Wondering if I should be doing something different. Has any one else used this product and have thoughts on its effectiveness / quality? Thanks for your help.

2. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

I always did the final fleshing at the beginning.

I received the cape, turned, split and then fleshed the cape completely so that there was no more fleshing that could be done.
    I did the thinning in the pickle.

When I went to a no pickle rub on "tan", I received the cape, turned, split, fleshed completely, then thinned it as thin as I could get it before continuing on with the process.

I did a change out head as an experiment with a fleshed raw skin (no preservative at all) and it has held up fine over the last 20 some years and I did one with a pickled only head skin with the same result. I have DP'd mounts that have lasted over 20 years, so I usually don't worry to much about longevity. Having said that, I have had these climate controlled. You can't control a customer, so, some skins may last longer than others due to how they are taken care of.

3. Bruce M

Bruce M Member