1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Bird Skull Maceration

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by calcaneus, Mar 5, 2020.

1. calcaneus

calcaneus New Member

Hi guys! (first post so tell me if i'm doing anything wrong :))

I'm just getting started with collecting skulls and my main interest right now is bird skulls. I was reading about maceration to clean skulls and wondered if maceration would be a good way to clean a bird skull? (or are there simpler ways for this?)

Also, i've read that maceration generates a lot smell, would this be the same for a bird skull? Let's say 1 or 2 bird skulls in a bucket, with regular water changes?

Also would this be a good way to do it:
    -1 sealed bucket
    -1 aquarium heater at 90F
    -1 or 2 bird heads
    -regular water changes, (once in 3 days?)

(Should I add any chemicals/enzymes/...)

A beetle tank isn't a possibility.

2. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member