1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Working With Vintage Pelts/soft Mounting

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by crown_of_bone, Mar 22, 2020.

1. crown_of_bone

crown_of_bone New Member

Hi all!

I'm a complete newbie; I've been collecting a while and am just starting to branch out into actually working with pelts and taxidermy. I have a bunch of cool vintage pelts, all of which were formerly from garments/stoles. While they're not in perfect condition, I thought it might be fun to use them as practice for making soft mounts. I have general sewing experience, but none working with furs. I don't expect these to come out perfect, especially given their age, wear, and pelt type, but figure it'll be a fun project/learning experience nonetheless.

My questions are, in no particular order:

1. The faces are all in the pinched style that was common for old garments. Is there a way to reshape the faces, and adjust the ears and help them to stand up? These faces have charm in their own way (they remind me of the "worm on a string" toys), but I would love to be able to give them a bit more dignity.

2. The paws are naturally not in great shape; I'm not too hopeful about getting good results with them. A lot of them had the paw folded in half down the middle so that they're narrower. I can release the stitching so that they're "free" (see second photo), though that exposes the opening in the hide. Are there good ways to reshape the paws? The toes are fairly twisted.

3. What's a good way to replace missing paw pads? Clay?

4. Since these critters were almost all case-skinned (though I think one or two might have seams across the bellies), I'll likely have to do some cutting so that I can work with them. Having not done this before, I'm terrified of hurting the pelts. What's the best way to cut to avoid causing damage? Any recommended tools?