1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Correct Way To Skin A Wing

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Bruce M, Mar 26, 2020.

1. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

As a beginner, I am working on a barred owl. It is on the perch, and being groomed. But I think I did the wings wrong from the start. I removed the wing bones so when I went to wire it I used cotton...just stuffed it in though. No glue or anything - not right i now realize but learning from mistakes. I realize I should have probably wrapped the wire in jute and yarn and then hide pasted it. Also, didn't really know how to finish off the distal end of the wing wire. Initially tried to loop it and pull it back but that ended up tearing a hole I had to patch so I ended up cutting off the loop and forcing it best as possible into the wrist. As bad as all this sounds, results aren't too bad but I want to do it right next time so any advice would be appreciated. I was also unsure how to set the eyes - just went for it but would appreciate thoughts on that too. Thanks. Here is a pic of what I have so far.

Attached Files:

2. KolbiH

KolbiH New Member

Never remove your wing bones! They are a crucial part of anatomy that must be used. Invert your wing out to the wrist. For a closed wing barred owl 16 GA. wire is sufficient. Insert the wire under the tendon of the wrist push the wire in between the hand bones until it lodges at the end. Do not let wire enter the primary quill it will distort your primary feather pattern. While holding the wire to the bones place a 90 degree bend at the elbow. Secure your wire to the bones with string. As for your eyes, owls have a very peculiar eye set that can be challenging. Just remember the wildlife artist mantra, reference, reference, reference.

3. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

Did you get the DVDs before you started?

magicmick likes this.