1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Mule Deer Cape Ears Thin And Tearing When Rehydrated

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Shrews5, Mar 28, 2020.

1. Shrews5

Shrews5 New Member

Hi all I’m new to taxidermy. I’ve done 3 mule deer, 1 whitetail, 1 Pronghorn. I was in the process of rehydrating another mule deer cape and both ears were almost shredding as I was removing the cartilage to put ear liners in. It was the back side of the ears not the thin inner ear. I’ve never had that happen before. It was like the ears were paper thin and after rehydrating then they almost felt mushy too. Cape was tanned by Moyle Mink Tannery. Any reasons why they did this would be greatly appreciated.

2. socalmountainman

socalmountainman Northwestern School of Taxidermy - Class of '73

The cartilage is attached to the inner ear, not the outer. During the skinning process, If you inverted the ears to the very tips and salted them down before sending to the tannery, then they should be able to re-invert after rehydrating the tanned cape. If you did this and the ears are tearing then I would assume the cape has acid burn.....

3. Shrews5

Shrews5 New Member

Yes the ears were inverted all the way to the tips and salted and dried before going to the tannery. Yes cartilage on the inner ear. The outer skin of the ears are what we’re tearing and almost mushy feeling. Is the acid burn from the tannery or a reaction to all the build up of hair and junk that gets in the hair side , inside the inverted ears, during the tanning process and put it in the salt water to rehydrate?

4. Shrews5

Shrews5 New Member

since the ears are ruined i wa shrinking about trying to save the cape by making it look like the ears were froze off. Would this look alright? Would you just make ear butts basically for frozen ear look?

Attached Files:

5. socalmountainman