1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Hair Slippage

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by Bruce M, Mar 28, 2020.

1. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

Is there anything that can be done when hair slippage is occurring? Hide was tanned - obviously wrong - just wondering if there is anything I can do to save the Cape or should I be starting to look for a new one? I'm new at this and learning. Thanks

2. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

CRAP!!!!!

Attached Files:

3. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

A proper tan won't cause slippage. Everything that occurs before tanning is where the trouble is. It could be one step, two or all of them. There is a domino effect that can occur also. Bacteria is your enemy and everything you do prior to tanning should be to prevent them from working on your skins.

It's impossible to know what went wrong without knowing the the process from when it was shot to when you took this picture.

4. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

Yeah....im guessing that is where the problem lies or it could be that I froze the hide pretty wet at one point prior to tanning. That would be my fault. I saw you mention freezing a wet hide is BAD in another thread somewhere. Is it saveable?

Frank E. Kotula likes this.
  5. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

Or should I start over? I have a back up cape

6. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Once slipped you can't add that back, however, once it is dry, the hair shouldn't slip anymore. Freezing wet after the tan is where the problem can lie, not before.

When ever I have something like this happen, I just try stuff I have heard of to see what happens.

Bruce M likes this.
  7. 13 point

13 point Well-Known Member