1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Preserving A Hare With Borax

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Constance Morris, Mar 29, 2020.

1. Constance Morris

Constance Morris New Member

Complete newbie here, done a few garden birds, but not a mammal. I was reading on a thread on taxiderming rabbits that you can still use borax, and one member recommended soaking the skin in a borax solution. Can anyone broaden on this, what ratio borax to water!! How long to soak for, and do i just pat dry it to put on my form.

Any help is greatly received. Thank you

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

If your just going to mount it , no soaking needed but I’m not a fan of mounting it these way for mammals as o would recommend DP instead of plain borax .
    All you need to do is flesh as best as you can. Rub it on and mount it.
    Another method is soaking overnight in denatured alcohol.

3. Constance Morris

Constance Morris New Member

thank you very much, sorry it took me a while to work out how to find your response, whats DP, feel like such an idiot asking such simple questions.

4. Fallenscale

Fallenscale Well-Known Member

NY
    DP is dry preservative that contain antimicrobial agents. There are a few different one's on the market.

5. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

I didn't know either

6. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

I think you need to get yourself some suppliers magazines and look into the chemical areas. It’ll give you some insight on what can be used.

Bruce M likes this.
  7. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

I will do that - thanks

8. 15pt

15pt Active Member

The denatured alcohol would be my recommendation. Diluted 50/50.

9. Bruce M

Bruce M Member

After fleshing, soak in this for how long and then it's ready for mounting or would you tan it too?

10. 15pt

15pt Active Member

Soak it overnight then mount it.