1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Thoughts On Taxidermy And Bone Collecting?

Discussion in 'Training' started by konarktriv7, May 15, 2020.

1. konarktriv7

konarktriv7 New Member

I'm curious to know what everyone thinks about taxidermy and collecting bones. Does your stance change if the animal was roadk https://xender.vip/ ill? Do you view it differently depending on the context, for example, if the animal becomes a part of a work of art, or is in a museum? I'm asking because https://testmyspeed.onl/ I personally feel very conflicted on the subject. https://nox.tips/

Last edited: May 16, 2020
  2. 13 point

13 point Well-Known Member

I’ve been doing Taxidermy for 34 years and have never collected bones in any way except for antlers

3. umbra

umbra New Member

I've been checking out this forum for info for awhile but signed up to reply to this. The majority of my collection is bones and I think that it's quite a fun thing to work with. If I've finished skinning an animal or I stumble across a specimen that I'd love to work on, such as some roadkill, and it's too far gone to collect the pelt, I'll rot it down differently depending on the situation before cleaning, degreasing, bleaching etc. sometimes I'll articulate and glue sections together. Teeth fall out after cleaning up a skull for example and need to be glued back into their sockets. I've never done a full articulation yet although I do plan to :). It's certainly very different from working with animal skins and other "typical" taxidermy but it's a fun way to use the entire animal (or just the bits of an animal that is too rotten to work with) as well as a way to identify that animal's lifestyle eg. finding spots of wear on certain joints, asymmetrical bone growth due to muscle injuries, missing teeth, that sort of thing.