1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Glues For Reconstruction?

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by ASchwartz, May 17, 2020.

1. ASchwartz

ASchwartz New Member

Hi all,
    Relatively new to this, although I have been collecting and bleaching bones for several years now. I recently acquired some mostly complete remains that I am in the process of defleshing and bleaching, and I'm hoping to be able to reassemble the majority of the skeleton when I'm done. Unfortunately, the animal (squirrel) had some post-mortem trauma when I found it, and I'll need to do some reconstruction of the skull and several long bones before I begin.
    I was wondering what the best type of glue is for this type of reconstruction. It gets quite humid where I am, so I'm concerned about using Elmers' because I know the humidity can cause it to expand and warp the bone. Any tips would be much appreciated!

2. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member

Elmer's is good for teeth, but, you are correct in that it is not great for high humidity areas. If you are reconstructing bone, consider some of the epoxy putties available. I have experimented with skull and bone reconstruction with one of the two part putty brands that comes in white and have been very happy with the results. I would suggest white over grey as it will take less effort to color the repair to match. Make sure you insert a metal rod into the halves of any long bones for stability of the finished repair.

ASchwartz likes this.

3. socalmountainman

socalmountainman Northwestern School of Taxidermy - Class of '73