1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Airbrush Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by MaineOutdoorsman, Jun 30, 2020 at 10:10 PM.

1. Any recommendations on a good airbrush that wont break the bank? I am a novice just getting into taxidermy and I see a whole lot of different options and a whole lot of different prices, not really sure where to start. Any brand I should avoid? Any brand you highly recommend? Thanks in advance

2. Wally Gator

Wally Gator Active Member

Welcome! You’re about to get lots of opinions....here’s mine. I use a Paasche VL. You can get a kit for under $100 which will include 3 tips. Save yourself lots of frustration and get good instructional material before you get started. If you are going to do fish I recommend Breakthrough’s Fish Finishing by Tom Sexton, which helped me a lot with my painting.
    Link to a kit on eBay
    https://www.ebay.com/p/1433308076

Blessings

MaineOutdoorsman likes this.

3. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

4. socalmountainman

socalmountainman Northwestern School of Taxidermy - Class of '73

I have the Badger Krome ($98), the Paasche VL-1 and VL-3 ($74 each) and the 'Blue Machine" ($20). Unless I am doing dots or fine detail (Krome) I use my VL-1 for everything. And if anyone can recognize the "Blue Machine", it works just as nice as my VL-1! By the way, my Paasche's are close to 40 years old!
    airbrushes.jpg

5. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

If that little blue thing is the one that is $20 or so from Harbor Freight, that is what I have used for several years and it has worked equally as well or better than the ones I have that were from 60 to 100 dollars more.

6. Westcoast

Westcoast Member