1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

What's The Best Way To Process A Tiny Bird Body For Articulation?

Discussion in 'Skulls and Skeletons' started by Roratus, Jul 6, 2020.

1. Roratus

Roratus New Member

Hello! I’m new to this and want to process a couple small bird bodies (budgies) I have in my freezer. I’ve done some research, but I still have a lot of questions, so this post is a little long.

I was originally planning on macerating the bodies, but I recently learned that parrots are one of the groups where the skulls can completely come apart during maceration. With such a tiny bird I think I would have trouble articulating the skull as a beginner (I have done dissections of a few different animal species and worked with bones before, just never outside of a lab setting until now). So I’m not really sure how to proceed. I’ve thought about dermestids but I know they only eat fresh flesh and some of these birds have been in the freezer for more than a year. Does long-term freezing damage the bones at all? Would dermestids be completely uninterested in frozen-thawed meat? I’m also a little worried about maceration as I don’t know how I’ll react to the smell. Does anyone have experience with the ammonia/oxidation method? I’ve heard it’s a less-stinky process. And on that note, do ligamentary skeletons have a smell since there’s still tissue on the bone? Can they get as white as with other methods?

I want to take out the flight feathers and re-attach them to the finished skeleton, but I’m not sure if I should pluck them or just cut them off. If I pluck them, since the feathers are attached to the bone, is there a chance the bone could break? And if I cut them, will the remaining keratin attached to the bone break down during maceration?