1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

How To Cast My Own Jawset

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by antjelly, Aug 14, 2020.

1. antjelly

antjelly New Member

Hello! I am a beginner working on a woodchuck. I would like for the woodchuck to have its mouth open, but there are no jawsets for woodchucks. Closest I found was beaver, but I don't think that will work. So I want to make my own. I am having trouble finding tutorials on how to make jawsets. I am aware that Taxidermy University has a DVD on whitetail jawsets, but I simply don't have $280 to drop just on a DVD.

Does anyone here have any advice? Thanks!

2. Frank E. Kotula

Frank E. Kotula master, judge, instructor

Cheapest way is to get a hold of Breakthrough magazine. You’ll find it in there but you need to call them and they’ll tell you which one have it
    You’ll need bedding clay, silicone, plastic or dental polymers
    Plus it’s nice to have a vacuum chamber but not real necessary but a pressure pot is a need.
    If you think $280 is expensive wait till you buy the materials

rogerswildlife likes this.

3. 3bears

3bears Well-Known Member

MN
    This may not be the best way but clean the jaw bones and use them, rebuild soft tissue.

antjelly, Mike Powell, tem and 2 others like this.
  4. George

George The older I get, the better I was.

I'm with bears here. Rodents of all sizes don't have a lot going on. Remove the jaw and put it in a metal wire Callander or flour sifter that will fit in a pot of boiling water. Cook it till the meat falls off. If on the rare chance, a tooth dislodged, the screen will make it easier to find.
    Clean the jawset and work the top and bottom separately. Use Elmer's Glue to secure teeth in their sockets. Use Apoxie in white, pink, and a mixture of both to bebuild gums, palate,and tongue before gluing your jaw back together.

5. msestak

msestak Well-Known Member