1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Preserving Rabbit Ears! Complete Newbie

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by EmersonTheVulture, Aug 29, 2020.

1. EmersonTheVulture

EmersonTheVulture New Member

Hello, all! I am absolutely new to this site, so please forgive me for any format or formality errors I may make, and please call me out if needed.

Edited to mention: IT IS AN EASTERN COTTONTAIL!

I recently found a juvenile rabbit on the side of the road, unmistakably hit by a vehicle. The head wasn't damaged, and I intend to clean the skull (I put it in a container with flies so the larvae will eat up the tissue - I have one juvenile rabbit skull from a few months prior).

I decided to remove the ears and try to dry preserve them. The thing I've come across the most is "turning" the ears, but I can't find explicit instructions on how to do so. They are still full of all their flesh, I literally cut around the base of the ear with an Exact-O knife (closest I have to a scalpel) and have the both of them in a sealed container outside (my mother won't let me bring anything death-related inside :p) which is collecting condensation, which I don't know if that's bad.

How do I go about this, from the start (well, starting with the ears already being cut off). Is there a way to just flip them inside out and then just cut off all the meat and then peel off the cartilage? (for removing the cartilage itself, I found a neat tutorial on this site - which is why I joined) Should I hollow them out/remove the fleshy bits while they're still the right-side out? Please help![​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 29, 2020
  2. joeym

joeym Jeannette & Joey @ Dunn's Falls