1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Before Taxidermy - Fresh Hide Care

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by xOEDragonx, Sep 10, 2020.

1. xOEDragonx

xOEDragonx New Member

Right off the bat, I'm an aspiring taxidermist with no hands on experience with tanning/preserving/mounting/etc. I am hoping to self teach myself all of this over time. I have a job and want to learn taxidermy on the side as a hint and maybe a potential small hobby business in the future. But for now, I want to first and foremost learn it as a hobby.

I've been a hunter my whole life and have skinned out many animals. I love working hands on with skin, bone, and meat cutting. I'm also an amateur artist with at least some talent in that field. I have a degree in wildlife and fisheries so I know and am willing to learn extensive biology and anatomy of any animal specimen. Add that all together, and taxidermy certainly sounds like a hobby right up my alley.

My first step and where I am now is collecting as much knowledge and as many resources as I can before I commit to buying equipment/tools/etc to begin my projects. I've been watching many free videos online and on YouTube to see different people's methods. I'm thinking about getting some actual taxidermy DVDs to get some better up-close shots of what's going on and more clear step-by-step instruction vs individuals on YouTube jumping around in their explanations. Any recommendations for good starter books, DVDs, videos would be much appreciated. I like having access to a variety of knowledge. I'll sort out which methods will work for me after I see and understand them better.