1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

How To Preserve A Full Small Bird?

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by akalsteni68, Oct 22, 2020.

1. akalsteni68

akalsteni68 New Member

I had a bird just die (cockatiel). Rigor mortis hasn't set in yet but it's about to. I have her posed on a stick with her wings out and her neck propped up. I'm trying to figure how I can do a full mount and what is the best way. I've never done something like this before. I usually just do bones and skulls. Any immediate help would be appreciated before I mess something up.
    https://nox.tips/ https://xender.vip/

Last edited: Oct 27, 2020
  2. socalmountainman

socalmountainman Northwestern School of Taxidermy - Class of '73

You are going to have to skin and mount it like any other taxidermy. Run to the public library and check out a book on taxidermy. You will carve from foam or build with excelsior a body using the carcass for dimensions. Glass eyes and borax for preservative. Keep it in the fridge for a day or freeze it if you cant start it right away. C1.jpg C11.jpg C12.jpg C13.jpg C14.jpg

magicmick, benp, drob and 1 other person like this.

3. drob

drob Active Member

Thats pretty funny,I thought people under 30 have never been to a library!

magicmick and socalmountainman like this.
  4. socalmountainman

The two best books I learned from when I was 12 yrs old I must have checked out over and over again a thousand times until I could afford the $12 for the Northwestern School of Taxidermy correspondence course. Back then we learned from books, no Youtube, no Internet. Those were the good ol' days! Best Taxidermy books ever!.jpg

5. Sea Wolf

Sea Wolf Well-Known Member