1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Impala Spine Tuft

Discussion in 'Lifesize Mammals' started by Queenofsticks, Nov 20, 2020.

1. Queenofsticks

Queenofsticks New Member

I have an impala skin mounted on my wall. It spent many years layed flat with other skins on it. How do I fix the spine tuft so it sits up straight? It's really been bothering me.

Flat iron? Blow dryer? Something I'm not thinking of? What temperature settings do I use? I have no experience with skins. I come from a doll customization background.

2. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member

Are you sure it’s an impala? I’m not aware of a spine tuft on impala. Can you post a photo? Regardless, it may be difficult to get the hair to stand up, but there may be somethings you could do. It would help to know if we’re talking about a mane or a tuft of hair as in the Springbok, which has a fold skin along the spine in the hip area.

3. Queenofsticks

Queenofsticks New Member

I have tried several times to add the picture, but it won't upload it for some reason. I'll try again with this comment. My bf said impala so I just went with it lol. It's a tuft of fur along the spine, like longer fur than the fur around it. The fur is line a bullseye of white on the belly, then dark brown, then tan for most of the hide, with a white spine tuft.

4. Queenofsticks

Queenofsticks New Member

I think it's an Ibex, making the spinal tuft part of the neck area? This would be consistent with our location (Texas) and the fact that it came with a ram's head (same hunter). I don't think there's much I can do after looking at photos of Ibex on Google. The fur on the actual animals isn't sticking up straight either. Thank you for the help!

5. Queenofsticks

Queenofsticks New Member