1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Weird Tanning Advice?

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Kaiju, Dec 26, 2020.

1. Kaiju

Kaiju New Member

Hi everyone!

Beginner here! I was going to take a taxidermy class last year but it was a bit over my price range, and then 2020 happened.

Anyway, I got an offer from someone with some spare squirrel and rabbit skins in the freezer he said I could practice with. But his taxidermy technique dosnt match with what I've read online. Obviously I don't want to disagree with him as he's got way more experience than me And he's doing me a favor, but I'd like to ask here if it's actually going to work or not before I start. I don't want it to go smelly or all the hair to fall out in a year's time, you know?

His method is.

1. Skin, get rid of any fleshy bits. (He's already done this, I assume he knows what he's doing)

2. Salt. Cover the inside of the skin with salt for a day. Remove salt. Replace with new salt for another day.

3. Borax inside the skin for 24 hours. Wash in soapy water, mount while damp, blow dry. He says they are only thin so that's all they need?

He also mentioned he'd used isopropyl alcohol to pickle a snake skin once, so I could use it on the rabbit if I wanted. But I've not seen anything about that for use with mammals. I would assume it would turn out really brittle? I've got access to a large amount for work so if it's a good option I can do it.

What do you guys reckon, is his homemade technique legit or should I just fork out for a premade tanning kit and wing it?

Thanks! I hope to be around here for a while, unless this is an utter disaster ahah.

2. Westcoast

Westcoast Well-Known Member