1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Iso Veteran Advice

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by ConservativeMillenial01, Jan 8, 2021.

1. View attachment 223130 View attachment 223129 View attachment 223127 I have been mounting birds for about 9 years throughout my youth as I’m pretty passionate about hunting and preservation of things with feathers. One of my family members owns his own taxidermy shop and has been running it for 25 years.His mammal work is phenomenal and in years past his commercial birds could be considered above average. In the past year, his birds have become absolutely unacceptable. People were paying him a premium of $350 for a basic base duck mount. He spit out a batch of 40 ducks and geese in a 3 week time span that pissed off a lot of his clients including a couple of long time family friends. (I am currently attempting a couple remounts on them and have already found a quarter inch of fat and a lot of meat still in the birds). I do not work with him in any way and just do it as a true hobby for extra cash out of a small shop at my house ( I have about 80 birds in the freezer from swan, crane, geese, ducks and pheasants) All this being said, I am starting to be contacted by majority of his bird clients from this whole ordeal. I don’t want to steer the clients away because I feel bad for them being ripped off so bad by someone. I also don’t want to go behind the back of a family member taking in his clients or disrespecting him any way. He is my elder and a veteran taxi. Really need opinions on the best thing to do in this situation. The pics are one of the birds I’m currently remounting for free for a family friend.

2. Tanglewood Taxidermy

Tanglewood Taxidermy Well-Known Member

I would refer them to a bird taxidermist that you would trust your birds with.

3. Mike Powell

Mike Powell Well-Known Member