1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Looking To Improve Please Tear These Apart

Discussion in 'Bird Taxidermy' started by Kostyniuk-outdoors, Jan 25, 2021.

1. Kostyniuk-outdoors

Kostyniuk-outdoors Alberta free and proud

Just getting back into taxidermy after about 10 years of not practicing and consider myself a total beginner. These would be approx 18th and 19th ducks ive done and first 2 done since 2011 so im very rusty.

The mallard. ok- theres about 100 things wrong with it and im not happy with the result. neck too skinny/too long. wing postion, chest postion, wrong. First project in 10 years and I made the newb mistake of not having my reference in front of me while mounting. This was my biggest mistake 100%. Early season pin feathered bird that lost feathers if you looked at funny. over fleshed and the skin basically fell apart had to sew about 8 large tears (2 inches long on average) in skin after over fleshing it. Then looking at feathers I can tell I didn't rinse it long enough in clear water b4 drying. overall im "ok" with it for being first bird in 10 years and 18th total bird. but I can see a ton of errors and learned a lot of "what not to do" End of day my friend that shot it likes how it looks so that's good I guess. But I don't like it. If theres anything I missed in this paragraph let me know please.